2023 Now Available To Order 2023 Now Available To Pre-Order

‘Meet Our Judges’

‘Meet Our Judges’

Each year, some of the biggest and most experienced brains in the cycling world get together to dissect the cycling season in minutus detail and pick out those exemplary performances to receive the highest of accolades: A Road Book Award.

No award is more highly coveted within the cycling community, and previous winners include such legends as; Tadej Pogacar, Mark Cavendish, Alaphilippe and Lizzie Deignan, holders Rainbow Jerseys, Yellow Jerseys, and hard-won bottles of champagne.

But enough about the winners, what about those sage cycling experts who faced the unsavoury task of deciding the best performances of the season? Keep scrolling to discover the Road Book Award judges.


Orla Chennaoui

Best known for her work as lead presenter for Eurosport’s coverage of cycling, Chennaoui is a well-loved and authoritative voice on all-things cycling. Orla is also a long-standing Road Book Awards Judge and a former contributor, having written the wonderful piece “Women Drivers: Trek-Segafredo’s myth busters” for our 2019 edition. An analysis of the unique contribution – and differing opinions – of former rivals Ina Teutenberg and Giorgia Bronzini. There are few more qualified journalistic judges of cycling merit.

Renaat Schotte

A Belgian journalist of considerable pedigree, whilst a specialist in track cycling and cyclo-cross, Renaat has also followed the Tour de France every year since 1999, often from the seat of his motorcycle. Interviewing the peloton before and after each race gives Schotte a keen insight into the minds of each rider, and adding his weighty experience to The Road Book’s panel.

Robbie McEwen

Former Australian professional road racer, three-time winner of the green jersey at the Tour de France and a legend of the sport down under. McEwen now works as a commentator on the Tour Down Under and the Tour de France and lends his considerable experience as both a racer and a fan to the judging panel. 

Rolf Sorensen

Former Danish professional rider, Rolf Sorensen specialised in winning the classics including the Tour of Flanders, Liege-Bastogne-Liege, Paris-Brussels and Milano-Torino; alongside stage wins at the 1994 and 1996 Tour de France. A silver medallist at the 1996 Olympics, there are few more qualified to join our board of judges.

Sean Kelly

Long time panellist, contributor to The Road Book 1989 and perhaps the greatest Irish cyclist of all time. Having won 193 professional races, including Paris-Nice seven years in a row and the first ever UCI World Cup in 1989; Kelly’s list of victories is longer than this year’s Road Book. As such, he needs no real introduction, and his vote caries considerable weight.


Want to find out who our judge’s thought were the best riders this year? Pick up your copy of The Road Book 2023 here.

Leave a comment